Two black women with naturally locked hair with fists raised. One is holding a certificate.
16 Apr 2023

Congratulations to the 2023 Awardees

Every year, at our convention, we celebrate the leadership of our members and our community.

The categories and awardees were:

The Movement Unity Award – is presented to a group of comrades whose outstanding performance and accomplishments together or with other comrades uphold the goals and objectives of the organization.


  • The ANWO Western Region
Two black women with naturally locked hair with fists raised. One is holding a certificate.

Amanda Wallace, for Operation Stop CPS. Pictured here with partner Keke Woods.

The Bold Initiative Award – is given to a comrade who accomplishes a task that advances the struggle. Whether it is a novel improvement or an innovative way to accomplish a task, this comrade has helped to move the organization forward.


Two African women. One lighter skin tone with an Afro who is holding a certificate and smiling. The other darker skin tone, smiling, wearing a colorful headscarf with a hand on the shoulder of the other woman.

Rage Gray, ANWO Midwest Regional Coordinator for their tireless work to organize African women in St. Louis and the Midwest Region.

Black woman with colorful headscarf hugging black woman with curly natural hair who is holding a certificate

Parrish Davis, ANWO Western Regional Coordinator, for building the largest ANWO region.

The Organizational Service Award – is given to a comrade who has displayed exceptional involvement in the organization project outside of her own areas of work. A comrade who, not in the line of duty but in a volunteer capacity fosters or contributes to a valuable and successful program within the African National Women’s Organization and the overall African Liberation Movement.


  • Hada Dioula Longi, the Uhuru Kijiji Childcare Collective National Coordinator. For her work to keep African children out of the colonial foster “care” system.

The Solitude Award – is named after African freedom fighter Solitude, born in Guadeloupe in the
1800s. She is held up as a heroine most noted for her last days when she led campaigns against French colonizers while heavily pregnant. The person awarded the Solitude Award is recognized by ANWO as a hero who, despite all odds, specifically fights in defense of African families.


  • Lakeshia Adeniyi, from Family Justice Tribe. A California-based attorney who advocates on behalf of African families fighting to regain custody of their children.

The Garveys Award – is named after Amy Jacques and Amy Ashwood Garvey. It is given to a comrade
who has displayed exceptional leadership. A comrade who, when faced with a challenge, rises and
overcomes it to further advance the African freedom struggle. Whose leadership is worthy of
emulation; an example to African women. Up you mighty African woman!


  • Mwezi Odom, Chair of the Hands Off Uhuru! Hands off Africa! campaign (Website)
  • Dr. Aisha Fields, Director of the All African People’s Development and Empowerment Project (AAPDEP). For her groundbreaking work leading that organization for over 16 years.

Special Awards (Mask Plaque)

The Mini Mask Plaque symbolizes a person who is a role model with a drive to transform situations into opportunities for good.  Bestow this unique, magnificent multi-cultural Black Heritage Trophy & Recognition Award on a recipient who embodies these traits – 

  • A powerful advocate for community and/or circle of influence
  • Inspirational role model for adults and youth.
  • Accomplished and results-oriented leader. 


  • Director Akile Anai’, the Director of the African People’s Socialist Party’s Department of Agitation and Propaganda. She is an unindicted co-conspirator, listed in the FBI’s July 29 indictment against the Uhuru Movement. (Website)

Deputy Chairwoman Ona Zene’ Yeshitela, leads the economic work of the APSP-USA which includes the community transformation project Black Power Blueprint based in St. Louis, MO.

Leave a Reply